duck stop

Monsieur DUCK seems to be a local graffiti artist in Ann Arbor. His signatures can be seen from Downtown to the Hill Area. Whats funny though is that apart from branding his signature across the city, I haven’t noticed any works with the duck sign. Hence, I wouldn’t like to call it vandalism but it seems to be teetering quite close to that line. If anybody has seen a work of his please leave me a comment so I can take a shot and place him on the pedestal as a2 graffiti artist.

munky likes bright signage

munky likes bright signage

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “duck stop”

  1. michele says :

    Hey I have seen this DUCK all over the place in ann arbor. all the way from walls to sign’s everywhere. and almost always with out fail the work swollow is right next to it. do you have any idea what this means. the past few nights i have been walking through downtown ann arbor and have seen this everwhere so i decided to “google” it and i would love to find out what on earth it means.

  2. Preston says :

    I know I’m a year late, but I too have been noticing a lot of “duck” tags for a while now. I’m glad I’m not the only one – my friends had no idea what the hell I’m talking about.

    Lately, whenever I pass them, I’ve been snapping a quick picture with my cell phone and noting the location. In one day of keeping my eyes open while going to class, I’ve noticed seven of these damn ducks. Hopefully I keep finding more.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/48455973@N00/

    (And of course, don’t let my cell phone pictures sway you from taking shots of your own.)

  3. Preston says :

    And for the record, for some reason, I thought that this entry was originally posted in 2007, hence the “I know I’m a year late.” Pardon my confusion.

  4. Vinchenzo says :

    I really want to kill Duck. No joke. My friends have planned to stake out one night and try to catch him/her. He is no real graffiti artist; he’s probably a high school kid who thinks he’s good at tagging. His tag takes no artistic talent and it’s just plain stupid.

  5. mayankgarg says :

    @Vinchenzo: Yeah, I totally understand your point Vinchenzo. Like I’ve said about Duck, I’ve never really seen any art by his/her tags. It almost seems like its a local branding effort for himself. He wants to see his name everywhere. And that is why I think his tags are closer to vandalism than to graffiti.

    I love graffiti. I think its an important way in which people get a chance to express themselves and creatively use their environments. But in this case it seems to be far from it.

    @Preston: I think you’ve made Vinchenzo’s stake-out much easier by capturing all the places Duck has been. Great photostream by the way!

  6. Mojave says :

    His tags are all over the Eastern Michigan University campus as well. A student perhaps?

  7. Vinchenzo says :

    oh god, are you kidding? He’s on EMU? That’s just terrible…

    -sigh-

    I’m hoping this isn’t becoming a trend for random people to just start using “duck.” Because it really is vandalism over here at UofM. Everytime I visit, I see it on more pillars and on every corner.

  8. Duck*IkA!! says :

    HELLO MY NAME IS DUCK,

    I´M FROM SPAIN AND I LOVE GRAFF

    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    I´M DUCK
    Í´M DUCK

Leave a Reply

