ab dilli door nahin

munky love delhi second to only shimla!

munky love delhi second to only shimla!

*Its been a while since I posted a blog entry and people have been getting worried. Myself included. There is always a resident fear in blogging where many take up a blog and then a short break disrupts that cycle. In my case this happened countless times. However, munkybizness is here to stay and will be shifting homes soon. I’m in the process of rolling out a new blog design on my personal space. So to see the progress head over to my blog link on mayankgarg.com. Click this link!

Now onto the post…

Today, I managed to grab the tracks for patiently awaited, Delhi-6 (or is it Dilli-6). The album is a worth buy. A. R. Rahman has been on top of his game all through 2008. Albums such as ‘Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na’, ‘Ghajini’, ‘Ada’ and not to forget, the Golden Globe Winner ‘Slumdog Millionaire’.

Many are calling this album the best yet. However, I beg to differ. I personally think Rang De Basanti was more rounded and had all excellent tracks. Now, if it sounds like I’m deploring the new album, ‘Dilli-6’, nothing could be farther from the truth.

In my opinion there are a couple of tracks that I might never listen to again, however, I want to leave that to Rakesh Omprakash Mehra to woo me when he combines it with the screenplay and the visual experience. The top tracks in no particular order for me have to be: ‘Dil Gira Dafatan’, ‘Delhi-6’, ‘Rehna Tu’ and ‘Tumre Bhavan Mein’.

First off let me put this out there. I love ‘Tumre Bhavan Mein’. Its an aarti (prayer) track and religious but it resounds in such a beautiful melody and is handled beautifully by Rekha Bharadwaj, Kishori Gowariker, Shraddha Pandit and Sujata Majumder. You must give it atleast one listen. I’ve always loved the elegance in Rekha Bharadwaj’s voice. She is a fantastic singer. If you’re in doubt check out ‘Tere Ishq Mein – Ishqa Ishqa’ and ‘Bidaai – Baabul’.

‘Dil Gira Dafatan’ may begin like a very Bollywood-ish track with high pitching vocals but wait for the melody to begin and you would definitely want to drive to this track. Its a melody that is hard to get out of your head. Especially, the fast strumming reminds me of Fleetwood Mac (yeah the connection is very weird).

‘Delhi-6’ is a beautiful speedy title track that is unlike any title. Its rappy and french-mixtape-ish too. This song makes me want to fall in love with Delhi all over again.

‘Rehna Tu’ surprised me. I had been eagerly waiting for a track with Rahman taking to the microphone. It happened with this track. Benny Dayal and Tanvi are there to support him through but its great to see Rahman behind the mic again. He has a very distinct signature tone and can sing a few genres of tracks.

Though this post was going to be about this wallpaper I made after listening to the track, it ended up being a mini-music review.

WIDESCREEN WALLPAPER (link on deviantArt)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

